top of page
  • Writer's pictureErin Husbands

T-Minus 2 Days ...

That's right! We are in the countdown of two days and some odd hours before we head off to #ORLANDO! I've been packed since last Friday because we were out of town for Labor Day and TODAY (Sept 7) is my first official day back at work! (Silly, yes, I know! To be working for a day and a half before leaving again - but HEY! - when you're the boss you get to do what you want to!)


So let's talk final things to consider for a trip to Orlando:

  1. Don't forget those quarters for the Florida tolls! As mentioned in previous vlogs, I am now a SunPass holder. It's super easy. You can get one at gas stations before the tolls start or you can do it online. I have the "mini" which is a dashboard sticker. You load it online before you hit the road and then roll right through the tolls. It deducts from your balance and you can reload instantly. PLUS - you get a discounted toll! Win-win!

  2. SNACKS! You need road trip snacks that are different from your park snacks. We also keep an ice chest to keep chocolate from melting and cold drinks. We also will stop at hotels along the way to refill the ice, potty, and then keep on trucking. Since I often travel a lot on my own I do this to be safe instead of stopping at gas stations alone.

  3. Car pillow and blankie! I will be driving so I obvie won't be sleeping but when you have passengers you need to keep them comfy and happy! I make sure my hubby has his ear pods, phone for watching soccer and MMA fights, a blankie, pillow, and his ear plugs so when he's ready to sleep I won't wake him up while I jam out to my music!

  4. Plan ahead for gas stops. I often check the mileage and where we will be around that mileage mark. I search for gas stations 30 miles before and after that estimated mark. I also check Gas Buddy to make sure they are (1) open and (2) their prices. Especially since recent Hurricane Ida is spiking gas prices and causing the gulf rigs to not function at 100%, gas is like gold right now in southeast LA.

  5. Check the weather and maps! Make sure you plan ahead of inclement weather which adds time to your travels. I am not a fan of driving in rain after a pretty serious wreck a year ago. So now, if there is bad weather, I add a couple of hours so I can stop and let the rain pass without getting thrown off schedule. I also check WAZE ahead of time for any road closures, wrecks, construction, etc. Waze is pretty good about catching any issues and detouring you well in advance.

  6. Play Tetris! I love packing the car because it's like playing Tetris! Where to put the luggage and then strategically places the snacks so that I can grab something without waking up the hubby. Where to put the park bags and clothes to change into before getting to the parks, etc, etc. Once that is done .... it's time to GO!

Of course we will be vlogging all of it so be sure to look for the weekly vlog release on my YouTube channel over the next several weeks! You can follow me on social media and check Facebook for pics, video, and more!


IG / Twitter - @erinhusbands

bottom of page